What is an allergen?

An allergen is a substance, generally an ingredient contained in a food, that can cause allergic reactions in the consumer.
As food manufacturers, we must inform you about the ingredients contained in each product and especially those containing allergens.

Giuliano Tartufi products contain 12 different types of allergens: gluten, lactose, eggs, mustard seeds, sulphites, fish, crustaceans, molluscs, dried fruit, peanuts, soy.

However, it is good to know that the presence rate of allergens on all products is extremely low and that the Mushrooms and Truffles used for our recipes ARE NOT allergens and cannot cause allergic reactions. However, it is always advisable to respect the indications on dosage per portion.

Among the most common allergens we have:

  • Lactose is a carbohydrate formed by the association of glucose and galactose. Quite simply, it is a molecule found in almost all dairy products and even dairy products. 1/3 of Giuliano Tartufi products contain lactose, which is why it is important to identify those involved: Specialties based on butter or cheese (including pesto), Caesar sauce, Truffle Sprinkle with Pecorino and Pesto, hazelnut cream and Truffle spread, Chocolates with hazelnuts and also whole cheeses with truffles.
  • As regards the presence of egg we have: Truffle mayonnaise, Cocktail sauce, Caesar sauce, Tuna sauce, Truffle Fondue and Truffle pasta (Strangozzi, Tagliatelle, Fettuccine).
  • Gluten is a protein present in typical cereals (wheat, barley, spelt, oats, rye) and therefore in everything derived from it. All boxes of truffle pasta (Strangozzi, Tagliatelle, Fettuccine, Gnocchi), soy sauce, breadsticks used as snacks and also truffle beer are included.
  • Other products contain fish, crustaceans and molluscs. For example: Black sauce with summer truffle, Olive cream, Anchovies with truffle, Tuna sauce, Black truffle pearls.
  • Nuts or peanuts are found in salty snacks (except chips), in hazelnut and truffle cream and chocolates.
  • Sulphites are contained in Barbecue Sauce, Mustard, Caesar Sauce and Tuna Sauce, Vinaigrette and Truffle Flavored Balsamic Vinegar of Modena Glaze.
  • With traces of mustard seeds, the least present among the list of allergens, we have some products: Truffle Mustard, Truffle Pasta (Strangozzi, Tagliatelle, Fettuccine, Gnocchi) and Grissini for the aperitif.
  • Likewise, there are traces of soy contained in gluten-based products; Truffle Soy Sauce, Truffle Pasta (Strangozzi, Tagliatelle, Fettuccine, Gnocchi) and Grissini.
  • We can find traces of sesame seeds in Hummus and Breadsticks with Truffles.


Search for the allergen and discover the products that contain it.